accountingnoob.blogg.se

Graf and sons tc contender barrels
Graf and sons tc contender barrels





graf and sons tc contender barrels

With NO TUNING except a minor lightening of the trigger pull (non-Acu-trigger) I set out to find my elk load with Barnes 225-grain TSX bullets. I loaded and fired about eighty rounds with Hornady 225s, getting a decent zero for practice etc. I mounted a silver Leupold 3-9x VX-II on it. It fired exactly six rounds before I bought it, and the gent threw in the remaining 14 factory rounds. 338 Savage Model 116, which is stainless, with fluted barrel, and in a plastic stock. Groups, with carefully crafted hand loads.Ġ8 February 2006, 19:51 Bren Mk1Just last year I bought a slightly-used.

Graf and sons tc contender barrels full#

Me, my safe is full of accurate guns that get "pretty" guns, that he cleans, but never shoots. Not care about "pretty" rifles, and I DO NOTĬollect guns. Offerings, and then buy a barrel, in somethingĭifferent, and change out the barrel. I buy a Savage, in one of their "standard" I have given up on a couple ofįor me now, I pretty much stick to Tikkas, andĪnd I can find a Tikka model I like, then I Only had a couple of dogs that would not get With handloads, and some accurizing, I have The RRA Varminter startedīut get better as I got the shot count up toĢ00 on the barrel. Probably the biggest surprise for me, was aĬouple of AR-15's. that shoot factoryĪmmo, right at 1 MOA, and is shooting hand that came out of the box, andįired factory ammo, under 1 MOA. etc.Ġ8 February 2006, 19:20 squeezeI have two Tikkas, one in. We use High dollar optics, quality bench rests, leather sand bags, Concrete Benches, wind socks, Modern Reloading equip, etc. I'm not talking about a bunch of rednecks shooting of of truck hoods either. If you can throw a dime over em' at 100 and a nickel over em' at 200 you have found the right load in our bunch. Heck, me and the fellas out at the range strive for those itty bitty groups. The wife just wants it to be minute-of-deer so I've been just letting it lay the last few years.Ĭome on Guys, it can't just be a freak thing. I believe it will shrink those groups down. Can't wait to drop it in a Glassed Boyds or HS Precision stock as well. 5s like there's no tommorrow w/ 160 Sierras and 150 NBTs loaded ontop of R22.īought another cheap ADL for the wife in 270 from you guessed it, Wally World and it'll go in the. Dropped it in a HS Precision stock and it will put em' in the. I bought a cheap Model 700 ADL at Wal-Mart in 7RM. Oh, this will really get to you non-believers. Any of you shot an A-bolt or M70 w/ a BOSS lately? the last few I toyed w/ different loads would print tiny groups at 100 when the timing was set just right for that load. Some of those rifles are sporter weights. Believe me, none of us are fixin' to run out to any bench rest competition w/ these rigs, they're just hunting set-ups. I can think of at least 7 factory rifles that my shooting friends an I shoot regularly that will print groups that basically tear one ragged hole at 100 yards and easily go below an inch at 200. I've never found it all that hard to make some factory rifles shoot small groups w/ the proper handloads. Heck, we all have bad days especially when the caffeine levels get high but, on a good calm day w/ a properly tuned load there are piles of factory rigs that will throw 1/2" and less groups w/ regularity. I'm also not talking about shooting in the.

graf and sons tc contender barrels graf and sons tc contender barrels

Matter of fact, just go buy a bench rest book from the local bookstore and you'll see that those fellas can shoot some scary groups. Those of you that think that's medal winning material need to get to a couple of groups shoots where real bench resters go at it. I personally don't see 1/2" groups at 100 yards being just fantastic, they are good don't get me wrong. In the area I roam and the local ranges I shoot at, accurate factory rifles are very common. I have a real problem w/ that negative attitude and incourage those folks to get out more.įirst of all, I don't try to brag on any of my rifles because there's always that quiet fella than can shut you up real fast when he pulls out his favorite ole' paper puncher. How many of you have 1/2" Factory Rifles?.It seems that every time one of us Handloaders makes a comment about the accuracy he gets from certain rifles, there are always the naysayers and non-believers.







Graf and sons tc contender barrels